Call Dr. Salzarulo at (212) 475-2222

Join Our Vibrant Health Newsletter

Dr. Anthony Salzarulo Holistic Doctor in New York City Client Handout:
Gluten-Free Grains

Gluten and gliadin are extremely difficult to digest and may encourage the growth of undesirable bacteria or fungi in the intestinal tract, which may contribute to diarrhea, bloating, wind, constipation and irritable bowel syndrome. Someone suffering from such symptoms may feel tired, irritable, or depressed after consuming gluten/gliadin containing products. Avoidance and elimination of these products from the diet are recommended before these symptoms may be alleviated effectively.

People who are gluten intolerant, or allergic to gluten, need to avoid grains that contain it. It is important to carefully read all product labels because products labeled wheat-free are not necessarily gluten-free.

Grains that contain gluten include: wheat, rye, oats, barley and spelt. In addition, durham flour, couscous, semolina, spelt, kamut, bulgur and triticale (a grain crossbred from wheat and rye) are all names for certain kinds of wheat. These grains contain gluten.

Despite these restrictions, people with gluten intolerance can eat a well-balanced diet with a variety of foods, including bread and pasta made with special flours. Gluten free grain products and flours that can be enjoyed include:

  • Amaranth
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn
  • Lentil flour
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice (any kind)
  • Soya
  • Sorghum
  • Teff

MILLET AND QUINOA: TWO WONDERFUL GRAINS YOU'LL LOVE

Quinoa, pronounced KEEN-wa, is a very nutritious and delicious grain that has a light taste and a delicate, fluffy texture. It was once a staple of the Inca culture. Those who are allergic to wheat or corn will likely find this grain easy to digest. Quinoa Contains 50 percent more protein than most other grains, as well as higher levels of calcium, phosphorus, iron and B vitamins.

Basic Quinoa Recipe

Ingredients:
1 cup quinoa
2 1/8 cups filtered water
1 pinch salt (Celtic sea salt is highly recommended)

1. Rinse quinoa.
2. Boil water and salt in a pot.
3. Add quinoa, reduce heat to low flame, cover and simmer until all water is absorbed and grain has a fluffy, translucent quality (15-25) minutes.

Quinoa is fine to eat in moderation during a Candida Cleanse or a Seven Point Detoxification Cleanse unless otherwise instructed.

Millet is one of the oldest foods known to humans and possibly the first cereal grain to be used for domestic purposes. The Hunzas -- who live in a remote area of the Himalayan foothills and are known for their excellent health and longevity – enjoy millet as a staple in their diet. Millet is rich in B vitamins and minerals, especially niacin, B6, folate, calcium, iron, potassium, magnesium, and zinc.

Basic Millet Recipe

Ingredients:
1 cup millet
3 cups filtered water
Pinch of sea salt (Celtic sea salt is highly recommended)

1. Wash and drain millet
2. Boil water and sea salt in a pot
3. Add millet, cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer for 25- 35 minutes.

Millet is O.K. to eat during Candida and Seven Point Detoxification Cleansing Programs unless otherwise instructed.

Millet and Quinoa can be added to casseroles, breads, soups, stews, souffl?s, pilaf and stuffing. They can be used as side dishes or served under saut?ed vegetables.

Gluten-Free Cereals

Nature?s Path, Erewhon, and Health Valley have a wide have a variety of cereals that are gluten-free. These brands are found in most health-food stores.? Nature?s Path makes a great Cheerios alternative, called Whole O?s. Arrowhead Mills has a wonderful selection of Puffed Millet, Puffed Rice or Puffed Amaranth.?

These cereals can be mixed with Almond or Rice Milk (Rice Dream and Pacific are brands that have organic, sugar-free varieties) and your favorite berries nuts and seeds (blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, almonds, pecans, cashews).

Gluten-Free Pasta and Breads

Rice pasta is gluten-free. The brand I recommend is Tinkyada.? Quinoa pasta is now available in many health-food stores. The brand I recommend is Ancient Harvest.? Ezekiel has gluten-free rice wraps.

Rudi?s and Udi?s both make gluten-free bread.? Food for Life also makes a delicious gluten-free option called Wheat & Gluten Free Millet Bread. For a wonderful selection of gluten free breads online, check out www.samisbakery.com.? Be careful when ordering, as the whole site is not gluten-free.? Another Bakery is Our Daily Bread, which sells at Union Square Market at 14th St.

Another source of gluten-free products is http://www.ruthshempfoods.com.

Delicious organic, gluten-free crackers by Mary?s Gone Crackers.

Many of these products can be purchased online at amazon.com

A local resource for gluten-free products in Manhattan: http://g-freenyc.com/.

We do not recommend gluten-free products made by Glutino

Hidden Sources of Gluten

Avoid the following foods unless labeled 'gluten-free' or made with gluten-free ingredients:

  • Beer
  • Breads
  • Cakes and pies
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • Cookies and crackers
  • Croutons
  • French fries
  • Gravies
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Matzo
  • Pastas
  • Processed luncheon meats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, including soy sauce
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods, such as potato, corn, and tortilla chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soups and soup bases
  • Vegetables in sauce

Certain grains, such as oats, can be contaminated with wheat during growing and processing stages of production. For this reason, it is important to avoid oats unless they are specifically labeled gluten-free.

You should also be alert for other products that you eat or that could come in contact with your mouth that may contain gluten. These include:

  • Food additives, such as malt flavoring, modified food starch and others
  • Medications and vitamins that use gluten as a binding agent

Watch for cross-contamination

Cross-contamination occurs when gluten-free foods come into contact with foods that contain gluten. It can happen during the manufacturing process, for example, if the same equipment is used to make a variety of products. Some food labels include a "may contain" statement if this is the case. But be aware that this type of statement is voluntary. You still need to check the actual ingredient list. If you're not sure whether a food contains gluten, don't buy it or check with the manufacturer first to ask what it contains.

Cross-contamination can also occur at home if foods are prepared on common surfaces or with utensils that weren't thoroughly cleaned after being used to prepare gluten-containing foods. For example, using a common toaster for gluten-free bread and regular bread can be a major source of contamination. Consider what steps you need to take to prevent cross-contamination at home, school or work.

Dr. Salzarulo offers detoxification, clinical nutrition, and holistic health programs in Manhattan. His office is located at 304 Park Ave South, New York City. Please call (212) 475-2222 for an appointment.